Finalists of 2006 Premio Tomas Arejola named

by Cora A. Arejola

Thirteen literary pieces and seven collections of poetry have been shortlisted for the 3rd Premio Tomas Arejola para sa Literaturang Bikolnon. This was announced by Carlo Arejola, managing director of the Arejola Foundation for Social Responsibility, the pioneering spirit behind Bicol’s premier literary prize.


Introibo Ad Altare Dei, Carlos A. Ojeda, Naga City
Badas ni Satanas, Otello L. Santiano, Naga City

Mga Rawit-dawit ni Padre Cabalquinto, Fr. Philip Francis R. Bersabe, Naga City
Karangahan, Jaime Jesus U. Borlagdan, Tabaco City, Albay
Folio, VICTOR DENNIS T. NIERVA, San Fernando, Camarines Sur
Dios Marhay na Aldaw, Honesto M. Pesimo, Jr., Naga City
An Pirang Aram Ko Manonongod sa Saimong Ngirit, Edgar A. Ramores, Naga City
Sa Gapo kan Nakaagi, Jericho H. Rabadeo, Calabanga, Camarines Sur
Aripompon nin Kapapadayawan, by Otello L. Santiano

Short Story
Ibalong 2080, Estelito Baylon Jacob, Camaligan, Camarines Sur
Anghel sa Dalipay, Austin John M. Ortinero, Goa, Camarines Sur
Kolor Takla an Agaw-Diklom, Edgar A. Ramores, Naga City
Nagpalta an Dios, Otello L. Santiano, Naga City

Bingkay, Fr. Philip Francis R. Bersabe, Naga City
Pagkahalo-halo saka Hegemonikong Direksyon kana mga Rimang Pang-igin sa PNR Site, Siyudad nin Iriga, Jose Jason L. Chancoco, Iriga City
An Bikolano, Honesto M. Pesimo, Jr., Naga City
Paghuba sa Magayon, Adrian V. Remodo, Lagonoy, Camarines Sur.

Stories for Children
Sabi ni ‘Pay, Nestor R. Alagbate, Jose Panganiban, Camarines Norte
An Rosas sa Disyerto, Jericho H. Rabadeo, Naga City

Authors of the said cited entries will each receive a framed Diploma of Merit in a gala awards night on September 12, this year, 7 p.m. at the Naga City Youth Center. The best entries, to be named in said occasion, will be awarded P2,500 and gold medallion. A grand prize winner shall then be chosen from among the said category winners, who shall then receive 10,000.00 and the Premio Tomas Arejola statuette.

To make the said contemporary Bikol writings available to the reading public, the cited entries will be posted at starting Sept. 1, as part of the Premio para sa Parabasa, a readership prize aimed at meaningfully involving the public by making available for their critical appraisal the best entries submitted to the Premio. Three literary criticisms will be chosen to receive a writing fellowship to 4th Juliana Arejola-Fajardo Workshop sa Pagsurat-Bikol and other prizes. Please email for more information.

Apart from the Premio Tomas and the Juliana Arejola-Fajardo Workshop sa Pagsurat Bikol, the Arejola Foundation for Social Responsibility also spearheads the Aldaw ni Ludovico outreach program in Minalabac, which commemorates the 1900 ascension of Gen. Loduvico Arejola as over-all commander of Ambos Camarines and Catanduanes during the Filipino-American War. The literary prize is named in honor of a patriot, writer and leading member of the Propaganda Movement, and is co-sponored by the Naga City Government and the Raul S. Roco Library this year. (


Popular Posts